, attached to 2021-10-23

Review by ohhello

ohhello Super fun show to be at. Had not seen the band since 2018 at the Forum. HIghlights for me were Tube > Slave, and the second set with the Piper being the standout. The harmonies in Scents were beautiful and the First Tube to send everyone home super high. Joy was beautiful placement too. And the lights are just insane!
, attached to 2021-10-23

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam Wow, what a fun show, just finished up couch touring this one - my immediate thoughts are that this was a hot one. Fluffhead opener - not many openers are better in my opinion, and this was a good one. Up next came the inevitable NICU, since well, the venue is named NICU amphitheater --- they would tease NICU throughout the night and it was awesome --- Rare tune in Bye Bye Foot and honestly, the song has grown on me. Tube -> Slave were executed near perfectly here - great 1st set combo. Slow llama next which I know is popular, I do dig it as well. Rise is not a bad song either, even though it may be the weakest of the set. However, as many times in Phish universe - the show takes off brilliantly in the 2nd set with a phenomenal version of No Mans - the jam goes the distance, but the Free the came after may have had an even bigger, impressive jam. The 1-2 punch of this 2nd set was epic, and must listen stuff. Up next is Joy, which many would say would damper the set, but it did not in the slightest high energy sand was next and a piper for the ages followed - the highlight of the show for me, a must listen to version of piper. Show gets closed out with a scents - a pretty excellent choice if you ask me. One of the top 2nd sets of the tour for sure here! As for the encore, Lonely Trip gets another play - it is a good song and i do believe it belongs in the rotation but having it as the encore after it was played 3 nights ago is my only real "complaint" of tonights show. And the encore gets redeemed with a great version of first tube anyways. Borderline 5 star show here! Must here the 2nd set
, attached to 2021-10-22

Review by mikeytnyc

mikeytnyc This was my 300th show! It seems like the more milestones I hit, the more demanding I become. It was my first show of the fall tour and I came in pretty fresh having not paid attention to much else despite my affinity for the new Golden 1 Center in Sacramento that I helped build. Did everyone like it? I hope nobody needed the world class sports medicine facility powered by Kaiser that’s attached. Anyway, Desert Sky, I mean Ak-Chin, does everyone else remember the Camel Walk and Guy Forget? Well I did so it’s kind of difficult to top that, right? Especially when I’m so heavily distracted by people asking if my party is “OK”. It’s called dancing, it’s called raging, it’s called freaking out. Perhaps try it and you’ll like it. We were the freakers right by the speakers, we were more than Ok. Trey put some extra mustard on that Julius so you knew it would be fun. They played some other stuff, the segue into Soul Planet was cool and the jam was fun. I loved dancing to More and we got a bonus Ghost to close the set. I always love when they close a set with 2 or 3 set closers in a row because that creates such a palpable energy going into set break. Speaking of closers, set 2 opened with Loving Cup. I know I’m getting older because I couldn’t help but think about the dearly departed Sharon Jones. I’m sorry Phish, there will never be another Loving Cup as moving unless you get Mick and Keith on stage too. My name is Mike and so of course I dig into Mike’s groove with aplomb. I have heard Hydrogen since Dick’s ‘19 so that was lovely to my ears. But, geez, “Yes! We’re OK, now shh!” The Everything’s Right was so good but I got sick of the looky loos so I went to get some water and was reminded that dancing in the back with friends is also a lot of fun. Except for the military reject that wanted to know where my seat was. Why isn’t everything GA yet? Before the nazi grabbed I managed to drop a jump kick to emphasize the Life Beyond a Dream. I returned to my section and several friends followed suit and we were rewarded with a lovely Hood. I love seeing love during Hood. I didn’t see any glow sticks, I only saw my friend giving lots of sweet hugs. The encore, for this tour, was pedestrian right? No bonus spacey jams last night, just a solid show. Did anyone else hear “Passing Through” at some point during the second set? I started humming the Hey, Heyo Heyo, and it worked but someone geekier than me will need to figure that out. Please stay safe, wear a mask, wash your hands frequently, and get tested regularly so we can finish this tour as it started. Much love
, attached to 2021-10-22

Review by vinsanity46

vinsanity46 Really fun show! I want to give credit to this show’s opening segment, because it was the type of opening sequence that means so much more in context than it does in a vacuum. Julius reappears after not being seen since late 2019 and it’s opening notes set the crowd in Phoenix ablaze. Though Julius made its name as a set-closer and encore tune, it makes a ton of sense as an opener. Serving as a high energy, bluesy jam to get the band and crowd feeling good out of the gate? Yes please. Hell, any time Julius is played is a good time, but to open a Friday night show after a significant hiatus? Danger? Yea, we’ve been told to expect it. Before we could even catch our breath, the first Martian Monster of fall tour (and only second since 2019) comes crawling out of the lurch. The “composed” sections of this particular Monster signaled good things to come, and the band seemed to be doing that thing where they take an innocuous musical segment and layer it so richly with new ideas that it almost sounds like a new piece of music. Don’t sleep on the length of this one either, because the jam in this Martian Monster might’ve been the best group improv of the whole show. Almost immediately, Mike starts dropping singularity bombs, perhaps signaling the beginning of a funky Mike-driven jam a la Sneakin’ Sally from 11/2/18…but the band modulates to major key…and what they find themselves in afterwards is a space of pure cohesion. Trey and Page start pushing and pulling each other through conversational melodies, almost rowing the big boat spaceship back and forth…drifting off into orbit around the Soul Planet. And then….liftoff What a sequence to ring in Phish’s first show in Arizona! One final note, this may have been the best straightforward Hood peak I’ve been able to catch live. Featured a big minor key jam with its own peak before absolutely crushing the standard major coda. Thank you Phish!
, attached to 2021-10-22

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam Solid show here on Friday night in the desert. The return of Soul Planet was awesome and a great first set treat. The song is really getting jammed far out. My Friend My Friend was a nice launching pad from that jam and was played nicely. More > Ghost was also a solid way to close out the set. 2nd set opens with a Loving Cup which was neat, a great song to hear at any time. Sweet Mikes Groove came after - and the highlight on the 2nd set came next with this Everythings Right, which had a nice long jam in it too - probably right up there with the soul planet jam from set 1. I think Life Beyond the Dream is a great song, and this was a stupendous version. Cities -> Hood were 2 great choices to close us out. All played very well. Double encore with Suzy and Cavern and we have ourselves a pretty darn good show here tonight, I will give it 4 stars. Must Listens: Soul Planet -> My Friend My Friend, Ghost and the entire 2nd set. Cant wait for more, Phish is refusing to play a bad show currently. It feels like theyre ready to go off any given night
, attached to 1997-07-02

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam Sick show here without a doubt. Stash is one of the best things I've heard from this band- EVER - and the wormtown jam is a trip and a half in itself. Oh, and it opens with a flawless Mikes -> Simple. There's even a strange design fit into this thing. One of the better shows ever, band is in such a great spot here throughout, this to me is an easy 5 star show
, attached to 2021-10-20

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam Really good show here in night 2 of Eugene, better than Night 1 in my humble opinion - loved the start to this one - sick mr completely, good energy and timber is a great song. SOAM was a nice 1st set treat and End of Session is a pretty rare one to here. Ruby Waves had the jam of the night, and honestly Lonely Trip is a good song, but maybe better for a first set. Golden Age was placed well and BDTNL was played very tight to end a fun set. And Wilson Santos encore a double pinch of gleeful energy Above average show tonight! Would take this one any given night, 4 stars on here!
, attached to 2021-10-20

Review by Slice

Slice Backwards Down the Number Line might not be the song many of us wanted, but it was song that everyone needed. It is a special song in so many ways. Such a beautiful personal poem between besties. Thanks to Mr. Marshall it is the reason the 3/6/09 interweaves all our number lines and back down here with all our friends at 10/20/21. Cherish these. No one knows how many numbers we have left to pin, but we do get to decide what it contains. Love y’all.
, attached to 2021-10-20

Review by metawhy

metawhy Wow just wow. It took me a second to figure out Mr. Completely when it started the show with a serious sonic push. It seems like they are now going for broke in the first song first set. I can't even describe where it went, but it is worth hearing. When they dropped into Energy, the crowd around me just exploded and everyone was dancing and grooving with big smiles. The jam slowed down and they took it into another rocker with a menacing vibe: Timber. Trey's enunciation of the lyrics with the heavy guitar behind him was powerful. Casual Enlightentment - ooof, please don't destroy the vibe Divided sky was great, but I can't help thinking that this song is most amazing the first time you hear it, for the sheer surprise of the changes and the idea of nurturing a bit of beauty to fruition. Farmhouse was a nice breather and allowed Trey to really feel the song out in a looser arrangement than in previous years. I feel heavy nostalgia for the 90s when I hear this song. Trey was practically whispering and it gave the song a nice plaintive feel. Melt thundered out next and my section was doing the weird jerky robot dance moves. This one got murky fast, with CK5 creating an amazing visual of a slowly turning whale with the lights. It slowed down and got very atonal. I was enjoying sitting down and just watching the slow turning lights. There was some weird little song I didn't recognize in the muck, then a return to the SOTM riff to close the set. Whew! Set II started out with a crowd participating ACDC that peaked quickly and landed in Ruby Waves. Geez I love the goofy and light lyrics of this song. It is like the opposite of a heavy trip. Peoples arms were up and swinging and getting down to the good energy. This folks was the jam of the night. Trey locked into some dark repetitive groove and then just brought out this amazing dark peak. Then all hell broke loose and it's like the whole thing lifted up and revealed this layer of disco right below the surface. It was like a funk bomb went off in our section. People were screaming and going nuts. You REALLY should listen to this very unusual jam. Ruby waves went ambient and then landed gently in Lonely Trip. Perfect placement! Everyone took a breather and listened to this gentle new song that leaves you feeling very good. Golden Age started and I couldn't believe it! This song can be so uplifting and the lyrics are just so FUN. They just sang it so hard, and the CK5 was helping out with Oranges and Reds to lift up the chakra energy. The jam winded down and I could just hear it coming, Numberline. I cringed for a second, then just went with it. It felt so refreshing to experience that song with a crowd. As Trey ripped into his end solo for the night, we were treated to his final crescendo of notes, tones and textures. It was absolutely stunning with some piercing high notes played with sustain. Very powerful stuff that felt cleansing in a way. Thank you Phish and fans!
, attached to 2021-10-20

Review by DarkStarCrashes

DarkStarCrashes This is why we come to see this band, for having a chance to glimpse into the unknown, and seeing the full potential of human creativity and ingenuity in action. For having a shot at being there when everything gels, and the only thing you can feel is love, and everywhere you look you can only see ecstatic faces. Everything was beautiful, it's almost impossible to believe 4 humans could create a sound so... THICK! So full and dense and wondrous. We are witnessing the crux and what is artistically possible and perhaps conceivable. There will be no comparisons to be made. You wouldn't compare a Dali painting with anything, not even another Dali. The act would be fruitless. Why bother? If you're inside a Phish show, you've done it! You're here! Ecstasy, Bliss, Laughter, Love are just a stone's throw away if only you can surrender to the flow. I love life, I love Phish, I love music and I love Oregon. I love this opportunity we have in this time and space to see what is truly possible. How much love can we add to the world? How much compassion? How am I going to make the world brighter with my presence? You are beautiful, each and every one of you. Happy happy oh my friends! Party on Garth! Party on Wayne! Until next time! Peace & Love & Phish Gary
, attached to 2021-10-20

Review by InTheQuagmire

InTheQuagmire Just coming off the Sacramento -> SF run and spent the last two nights on couch tour for these Oregon shows. I was slow cooking mushroom risotto during the SOAM and shit...,my spatula got caught in the hose. As I slowly poured chicken broth and stirred with the rhythm over the gas flame, I found myself right back in there as well. In that sweet-spot that I've found myself in both nights of Chase, many parts of Sac, all of Shoreline and all over the Gorge. This show is fantastic from start to finish. Powerful, hot hot heat, healing (that pause in Divided Sky... is bliss), more heat, optimism, and downright FUN. That risotto gave me the comfort food moment I needed coming off west coast tour kickoff and then sneaking back in for more via web-cast. Love and light, remember to eat, hydrate and take care of each other. (and your shoes!!!!). Peace - MT
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by metawhy

metawhy Was my first show since Bend 2015. Was that a loud show last night? Is that the new normal? I'm wearing ear protection tonight. Maybe I'm just old now. Trey was really going for it in DWD and TWIST. Really out there stuff that didn't quite gel into something amazing (like 8-31-21 Stash) but I still love how Trey really stretches the band into new and weird spaces. It's why I see Phish. It won't work 100% of the time, but it is why I keep coming back to listen. The show was very high energy, even the slow songs like Leaves (which had great placement) had a raging ending to them. It was like guitar god Trey was in the house. My favorite moment was when 2001 got slow and Trey's tone got really low. I didn't see how they could go back to 2001 and it was just an amazing full band exploration. Also, Mike cannot be heard as clearly as earlier tours. Phish sound guy please fix this.
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by metawhy

metawhy Was my first show since Bend 2015. Was that a loud show last night? Is that the new normal? I'm wearing ear protection tonight. Maybe I'm just old now. Trey was really going for it in DWD and TWIST. Really out there stuff that didn't quite gel into something amazing (like 8-31-21 Stash) but I still love how Trey really stretches the band into new and weird spaces. It's why I see Phish. It won't work 100% of the time, but it is why I keep coming back to listen. The show was very high energy, even the slow songs like Leaves (which had great placement) had a raging ending to them. It was like guitar god Trey was in the house. My favorite moment was when 2001 got slow and Trey's tone got really low. I didn't see how they could go back to 2001 and it was just an amazing full band exploration. Also, Mike cannot be heard as clearly as earlier tours. Phish sound guy please fix this.
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by c_wallob

c_wallob I would describe 10/19/2021 as the not the show we wanted, but the show we needed. The vibe was spectacular in the venue, with everyone looking to heal from the tragedies in SF, and then Trey got up there and perfectly summed up what most of us are feeling. I know that the SF stories are far from over, but I - for one - feel that I'm ready to enjoy the rest of tour without the cloud hanging over us. I know that people get hurt, OD, and unfortunately pass away more frequently on tour than most of us know. But the way that things transpired in SF, coupled with this period of National sorrow and death that we are are trying to emerge from, made it particularly upsetting. Anyways - about the music. I really wouldn't change anything about the first set. This was the first DWD of 4.0 that delivered an extended jam, Jim was a solid Set 1 version, Ocelot had a very nice Type 1 jam, Rift, Horn > Ya Mar was a great song-based segment, Stash delivered a really pretty extended Type 2 jam, Trey gave a 5-star speech, and Walls brought the set home with great energy. For a "normal" first-set from a setlist perspective, I would give this first set about 4.5 out of 5 stars. Set 2 started off with a lot of promise. Twist started at a slow, swampy pace, giving way to a crunchy groove reminiscent of the 4.0-style jamming. Blaze On was a terrific choice for the second slot, and the jam started with tremendous promise. Then, it seemed like Mike and Fish pulled the ripcord into Plasma. I didn't even hear Trey punching that staccato rhythm before Fish started that unmistakable drumbeat. I love Plasma, but since Providence 2019, I feel it's gotten more than its fair share of play. I would have been perfectly happy if we got a monster version of Plasma, but this sub-7 minute version was a bit of a letdown. Leaves was VERY well played - probably my favorite live version yet. I really didn't think that I Never Left Home would be a good addition to the Phish live catalog, and after 1 performance I feel that thought was accurate. I like Sparkle more than most, but prefer it as a Set 1 ditty. 2001 was the best version I've seen in a while, but I wished that they would have just finished it and closed the set out on that note. Sigma Oasis is still trying to find its place in the setlist. Is it an opener? Jam vehicle? Set closer? I know that this song is going to be in our world for a while, and I hope they figure out its place. I don't think Set 2 closer is it. Although it started with great promise and included a super 2001, I'd say this set is in the 3.4 to 3.6 star range. DWYS was exactly the encore I hoped they'd play. A lot of love was released during the refrain of that song. Everyone in the room was on their feet with their hands in the air, shouting "And LOVE will carry us through" at the top of their lungs. What an amazing sight. I'm getting goosebumps just thinking about that moment again. In the context of THIS tour, being in the room, and the show that I wanted tonight, I'd give this show a 4.8 out of 5 stars. In the context of the broader catalog of live phish shows, I'd put this show at 3.8 out of 5 stars, mostly due to the middle third of the second set.
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by DrJerryPunchYITE

DrJerryPunchYITE Funny thing 2021 phish has done to us. If they're not playing 4 song second sets or insert songs you don't think should be played its a 2 star show. Lol same as it ever was! Not the best show of the year but an average/great show with 4 really good renditions, some tour firsts, a debut and a very classy conversation about the San Fran tragedy.
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by yEEt_1331

yEEt_1331 Definitely a sort of "breather" show from the absolute setlist and improvisational insanity that was the San Francisco weekend, but nonetheless pulled its own weight quite well. Ripping out of the gates with a 25-minute Disease is a good indicator of this, and honestly a return to some pedestrian first-set classics is a nice refresher after a murderer's row of improv. Keeps things interesting. Stash again was impressive, 2021 is no doubt an MVP year for Stash. Trey addressed the tragedy from Sunday night after Stash. No four song second set tonight, but that's perfectly fine. Twist was very good, and the first time they've stretched out that song this year I believe. A handful of standard renditions of Blaze On, Plasma, Leaves, and Sparkle, throw in a[i] Lonely Trip[/i] debut, a killer 2001 and finally Sigma to close and you have a nicely-played second set format that looks pretty familiar to all the Set 2's in Atlantic City: a heavy hitter opener, some standard runthroughs of songs, maybe another jam or two, and a nice closer. I've seen some debate about a Drift encore, but for me it's a feel good sendoff to a pretty good show.
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by RubyWaves

RubyWaves 1st set was pure smoking hot flames. Incredible versions of Disease (longest show opener of all time!) and Stash. 2nd set had a good not amazing beginning but then was completely ruined by that Sparkle placement. Truly awful. The 2001 that followed was very, VERY good but they didn't really seem to know how to end it and Sigma just abruptly started. Very weird set, but it wasn't awful or anything. Definitely listen to 2001 and the Blaze On -> Plasma, maybe Twist as well. I'd probably put this above Sacramento just because of the massive titans in the 1st set, but that might change because I feel like Sacramento will have more replay value over the years. Better luck next time.
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam First set was good, and the start to the 2nd set was good (Twist was sick) .... however the 2nd set does fall apart here imo... we did not need more plasma, and what the heck is that sparkle doing here.... 2001 could not save this set. Also I like drift but its a pretty deflating encore. Going to give this show 3 stars but its not far from 2 stars. They all cant be amazing pholks
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by Gumbo72203

Gumbo72203 Unfinished 46 Days! First set is great. Possum has an extra cycle through the changes because Trey wasn't done. Love it. Fishman's drums during this last cycle sounded almost death metal, crazy playing. Everyone talking about Frankie Says, I would just like to point you to my favorite version of the song - 10/29/98. This is perhaps the best AUD tape I've ever heard. An intimate outdoor venue with the best sound in the world, and this may be the best AUD pull of any tape I've ever heard. It's truly spectacular. Please take some time and give it a listen. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nuAUJ8mYrjQ
, attached to 2021-10-17

Review by HarpuaTheBulldog

HarpuaTheBulldog Musically speaking, that was everything I'd want in a show. Different placements, everything with the gas, first set and second. From the very beginning - it was extremely well done. BOTT through Destiny - all punch above the usual. Maze and Destiny especially since the reunion in '09. Reba - great jam - technically nailed. Second set: Evolve - the best (IMO) Trey song during quarantine. Been waiting to play it again. Nailed it in a softer arrangement. SYSF - insane. must listen. what the fuck? Wingsuit - again, strictly musically speaking, very good version, lots of time taken to develop, lots of confidence, tight from all members. maybe the best version i've ever heard. chalk dust - insane. must listen x2. hose single digit times there's been two 20-minute jams in one phish show since 3.0. this is one of them. first 4 song second set since - depending on who you ask, 12/30/19 or all the way back to 6/20/2004 - what a time to be alive am i right. jesus. how lucky are those of us to be going to eugene tuesday and wednesday. we have a lot to look forward to. please reach out if you even slightly feel the need.
, attached to 2009-06-05

Review by HarpuaTheBulldog

HarpuaTheBulldog On the Ya Mar, Trey changes the lyrics around 3:00 to "He was Mike's Grandpa" and then later in the song he says "Mike's gonna play one for his grandpa now!" before Mike teases How Far Is Heaven from The Los Lonely Boys. Link can be found here (https://youtu.be/1X5Sxf6_ZcE?t=180), nice little Easter egg in tribute to Mike's IRL grandfather who passed away a few weeks prior. If you remember the Ya Mar origin story, Mike was on vacation with his grandparents in the Caribbean when he heard the original version by Cyril Ferguson for the first time, so that's a doubly nice little tribute there.
, attached to 2021-10-17

Review by yEEt_1331

yEEt_1331 Song placement continues to be unique, a Bug opener really shakes things up, plus it's always nice to hear. Really refreshing to see that continue. First set itself was well played. And then there's set two. What on earth is even happening? Phish coming out and playing four song second sets? The last time Phish threw down a four song second set was 6/20/2004. With two monster jams? Just incredible stuff. Absolutely mind-blowing that the band is doing this 38 years into their career. They also played Evolve again, my favorite Lonely Trip song and I'm glad it's (hopefully) here to stay. And RIP to the guy that died last night, super tragic, heart goes out to him.
, attached to 1988-08-04

Review by thelot

thelot Another solid night of music in Colorado. There was a Gamehendge theme sprinkled throughout the night which Trey continuously points out. Most songs are also introduced which isn’t typical. Unfortunately there are two harsh cuts that are lost to Phishtory, first is the cut during the debut of Poor Heart. It cuts in midway through during what appears to be a composed middle section. Poor Heart was introduced at the Earth Day Fest on 4/22 as “The Four-Track Song”. Not sure if it was debuted prior to Telluride but this is the first known recording. The other cut takes place at the beginning of Tela. Prior to Tela Trey let’s Tim Rodgers choose the next number. Not sure what Tim’s pick was but it wasn’t Tela. After hearing his choice Trey says “he’s so predictable” “you lose Tim!” lol Highlights: Poor Heart, David Bowie, Curtain>Wilson, Antelope
, attached to 2021-10-17

Review by RubyWaves

RubyWaves Bay Area got 4 5-star shows in 1 year, eh. That's something not even New York has done, and they get a shot at it almost every damn year. First things first. Jon Fishman played his goddamn ass off the whole show. Especially set 1, where songs like My Soul got all sorts of energy. Maze, Steam, and Reba are the big highlights from set 1. Maze rivals Alpharetta 's version (what a great year for Maze), Steam is GOAT contender (probably still give it to 12/30/17, thought) and the Reba was out of this world. 8/6/21 was Summer's double creature feature, and now 10/17/21 is Fall's double creature feature. Two ginormous jams that explore every style under the sun. The Wolfman's encore kicked unholy amounts of ass as well. What a band. If they top this later this year, then they probably turned into something not human during the pandemic.
, attached to 2021-10-15

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam Tour opener with little rust, and a loose, unpredictable feel in the setlist. Unfortunately, it never really materializes into anything worth obsessing over. I think the highlights were Corinna, Mercury, Sand. You can probably skip through alot of the rest. We should expect tour openers to be not as amazing, and rightfully so. 3 stars
, attached to 2021-10-17

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam Couch toured this one, loved the Bug opener honestly, its such a great song. Rest of the first set was tight, probably best first set of the 3 shows so far - shoutout to that Steam. Second set on Paper, looks pretty suspect. Evolve was fine, but things get taken up a notch in this Set Your Soul Free, which has a sick, darker jam going on. Sets an interesting mood, it was at least 25 mins long, maybe a contender for best version ever, a must listen for all of you. After that sweet jam, we get wingsuit and yes, people hate this one often, and it was not placed well. Put a bit of a damper on the set, but was still played pretty flawlessly, so if you're a wingsuit fan I bet you were having a good time. Then we get the set wrapped up with a monstrous chalk dust and just like that, only 4 songs but I think I was satisfied. Encore a lawn boy, who could complain about that? And a pretty trippy wolfmans to send us home. Slightly above average show here tonight, check out Steam, SYSF, Chalkdust, Wolfman's! Also RIP to the person who died tonight at the show during Destiny. Tough scene im sure for all involved. We will get by.
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by Uncle_Ebeneeezr

Uncle_Ebeneeezr Total banger of a show. I was there on the floor at Chase. This was a special show. First set started with one great tune after another. Possum opener set the tone, and really those first six songs up until Shade had the crowd fired up. Slave mid-first set (!), and incredible peaking energy throughout. Great Antelope to close the set. Second set continued the magic, and then on top of all that, a wild jammy 19-minute Carini as an encore??? Def give this one a listen. Thank you, Phish!
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by thewiz

thewiz Truly incredible that they’re playing at this level two shows into the tour. I kept thinking that I was hearing teases during improvised sections because the jamming was so good and sounded composed. Too many highlights to even note (loved the jammed Frankie Says, one of the most underrated and unappreciated of their songs). The Carini blew the roof off the place and the playing was tight and fast all around. When do they ever even do that in an encore? Very different energy than Sacramento, even though SF was a bigger venue, felt more intimate because it was crowded. The house seemed packed but I couldn’t even give away a mail order floor outside the venue, there were tickets all over the e-scooters littering the sidewalk. Super well run venue with no lines anywhere for anything. Can’t wait for tonight.
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by Phishtopia

Phishtopia Magnificent playing in an incredible show. Winterqueen has hints of Beneath the Sea of Stars and Ocelot woven into it. Frankie Says is a nice bust out with a superb jam to follow. Stay and listen all the way to the end where the Carini-Mothership enters the atmosphere bathing everyone in its warm light only to rocket into the heavens and the cosmos.
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by RubyWaves

RubyWaves WOW. Just, WOW. Instant classic, without a doubt. Probably my show of the year. 46 Days -> Slave makes you feel like you're on a cloud. Simple and Frankie Says (first Type 2 in 18 years!) are an unimaginable dance party. Type 1 highlights abound with Possum, Antelope, and Moma. But without a doubt, the highlight of the show is that goddamn encore Carini. Absolutely trumps everything else played in the tour so far, and probably a Top 10 Carini ever. Highlights: honestly, do not skip a SINGLE song in this show. you will not regret it one bit.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2021  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode